Special-needs compulsory school

Engelska (ENG)

Special-needs compulsory school is for children between the ages of 7 and 16 who have an intellectual disability or a non-congenital brain injury.

Två elever vid en dator.

Schools can be municipal or independent

Compulsory schools can be municipal or independent. Most compulsory schools are municipal and the most common is that pupils attend a municipal school close to home.

Every compulsory school has the possibility of having various specialisations, such as English classes or culture and sports classes.

Independent schools are open to all and the teaching must be equivalent to that provided in municipal schools. Independent schools have a different operator (owner) than the municipality.

Special-needs compulsory school

Special-needs compulsory school is for children between the ages of 7 and 16 who have a developmental impairment/intellectual disability or a non-congenital brain injury. Special-needs compulsory school is adapted to the circumstances and needs of each pupil. The education shall give the pupils knowledge and contribute to development, social interaction and a good foundation for active participation in society.

Activities in special-needs compulsory school

Special-needs compulsory school comprises education in subjects and subject areas, or a combination of them. The education can also comprise subjects according to the compulsory school course syllabi. The education shall provide knowledge and values, contribute to development, social interaction and a good foundation for active participation in society.

Pupils that attend special-needs compulsory school and have a need to go to a recreation centre can apply for a place at a recreation centre that belongs to the compulsory school or a compulsory school for the hearing or visually impaired (special school). Read more in the section on recreation centres below.

Special-needs compulsory school curriculum and course syllabus

The curriculum describes what subjects are included in the education and how they are distributed between the different years. Pupils who attend special-needs compulsory school have a right to a number of guaranteed teaching hours.

The pupils in the special-needs compulsory school study subjects or subject areas. The subjects included are Swedish or Swedish as second language, mathematics, English, practical-aesthetic subjects, technology, social studies and science. Those who do not have a possibility to study the subjects can study the subject areas of everyday activities and perception of reality.

There is a syllabus for every subject in school. It describes what the purpose of the teaching is and what knowledge your child shall be given the opportunity to develop within the subject.

The activities in school must be consistent with society’s democratic values and everyone who works in school must respect the value of every person and our environment. All pupils shall feel secure and respected and be given equal opportunities in school.

Assessment and learning in special-needs compulsory school

In school, the pupil continuously receives information about what he or she has learned in relation to the teaching objectives.

The teacher, the pupil and other pupils can provide feedback that contributes to guiding pupils forward in their learning. Teachers and pupils also discuss what the pupil should do to move further in his or her studies based on an assessment of what the pupil needs and already knows. It is important that the pupil obtains an understanding of his or her own learning and need for development.

Development talks in special-needs compulsory school

At least once every semester, the pupil, the teacher and the pupil’s guardian meet to discuss how the pupil is doing. This is called a development talk. The talk shall provide an all-round picture of the pupil’s knowledge and social development.

During the talk, a discussion shall be held about how the school can support and stimulate the pupil’s development. The talk provides the pupil and the guardian an opportunity to influence.

In the development talk, a written individual development plan shall be written, partly for pupils in years 1-5 and partly for the pupils who do not receive grades in year 6-9. The individual development plan shall contain assessments and prospective planning.

Grades and grading in special-needs compulsory school

in special-needs compulsory school, grades are only set in subjects if the guardian or the pupil so requests. This does not apply to the subject areas, where grades are not set. The grading scale has five levels: A, B, C, D and E. A is the highest grade and E is the lowest passing grade. If the pupil does not meet the requirements for the grade of E, no grade is set.

Senast uppdaterad 15 november 2021